Close this search box.

nomination tips & tricks

Need help writing a compelling nomination? Our judges read over a hundred nominations each year, but there can only be one winner per category. We’ve put together some top tips and tricks to help you write an award-winning submission.

Nominations for the 2023 Property Council of Australia/Rider Levett Bucknall Innovation & Excellence Awards are open and will close on Friday 17 March 2023 at 5:00pm (AEDT).

Before you make your submission, please check you have met the following criteria.

  • Nominations must be made by Property Council of Australia
  • Projects must have been completed in the previous 5 years
    (subject to category, refer to category criteria).
  • Projects must be operating for at least one year as at 31
    December 2022 (subject to category, refer to category criteria).
  • Projects must not have previously won the award in the same
  • Project financials MUST be supplied (refer to nomination form) for your submission to be considered.

Mosaic Property Group Brisbane Headquarters Fit Out

Judges read a lot of submissions.

Think about what makes your submission stand out from the rest, and how best to present your submission accordingly.

Keep it simple.
Get to the facts.


Word counts are just a guide.

You don’t have to reach them. Often, less is more.

Express clearly.

Innovation in your responses should be clearly expressed. Claims such as “Australian first” should be substantiated.

Any post-submission dialogue in relation to the nomination will solely be undertaken at the discretion of the judges’ panel.


Dot points can be used when writing the submission.

Cross reference.

You should simply cross reference to your answers if providing the same information throughout the submission, rather than repeat paragraphs for each criteria, to improve brevity.


Good quality testimonials.

Provide good quality testimonials (not just project team), including pre-post statistics monitoring satisfaction.


expressions of interest

date to be confirmed

gala tickets available for purchase

date to be confirmed

people's choice award VOTING OPENS

date to be confirmed

state development of the year announcement

23 august 2023

national awards gala at the ICC sydney

more about the awards

Innovation & Excellence Awards

history of the awards

In 1982, as the property industry gathered to present its first annual awards for excellence and innovation, many of the buildings that now shape our skylines, that bring life to our cities and energy to local economies, were still distant dreams or sketches on the drawing board.

australian development of the year

Each year the Property Council’s national judging panel awards an Australian Development of the Year winner. Some of Australia’s most iconic developments have been awarded throughout the years.

state development of the year

By entering the National Innovation & Excellence Awards, development project finalists are automatically considered for the Rider Levett Bucknall State/Territory Development of the Year award. 

AWARDS commemorative book

The awards commemorative book is a full-colour, burst-bound publication to commemorate and promote the awards to a larger, broader audience of leading property professionals, property owners, developers, and investors. This publication records the achievements of the award winners and finalists.