Close this search box.

awards program

Managed by the Property Council of Australia, the Innovation & Excellence Awards is one of the most prestigious property awards programs in Australia, promoting excellence in design and innovation in the built environment since 1982.

The Property Council of Australia aims to showcase superior examples of iconic projects in property development and investment across a broad range of sectors and design disciplines.

By entering the Innovation & Excellence Awards, projects are automatically considered for the State Development of the Year (excluding Future Leader of the Year, Diversity and Innovation nominations that don’t relate to physical development locations).


expressions of interest



date to be confirmed

gala tickets available for purchase

date to be confirmed

people's choice award VOTING OPENS

date to be confirmed

state development of the year announcement

23 august 2023

national awards gala at the ICC sydney

more about the awards

Innovation & Excellence Awards

history of the awards

In 1982, as the property industry gathered to present its first annual awards for excellence and innovation, many of the buildings that now shape our skylines, that bring life to our cities and energy to local economies, were still distant dreams or sketches on the drawing board.

australian development of the year

Each year the Property Council’s national judging panel awards an Australian Development of the Year winner. Some of Australia’s most iconic developments have been awarded throughout the years.

state development of the year

By entering the National Innovation & Excellence Awards, development project finalists are automatically considered for the Rider Levett Bucknall State/Territory Development of the Year award. 

AWARDS commemorative book

The awards commemorative book is a full-colour, burst-bound publication to commemorate and promote the awards to a larger, broader audience of leading property professionals, property owners, developers, and investors. This publication records the achievements of the award winners and finalists.